Roundup of the Excellence in Teaching Awards

In General

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Last month, nominations for the annual Excellence in Teaching Awards (ETAs) opened on the SUSU website. The

Students’ Union has been urging University of Southampton students to nominate and vote for members of

academic staff who have really made a difference by using innovative and practical teaching methods to help

students reach their potential. In the words of VP Education David Mendoza-Wolfson, “we shouldn’t just be

having a go when lecturers don’t quite cut it, but elevating those lecturers who make it worth getting to your

9am on a Monday morning”. Staff were nominated for five categories: Outstanding Lecturer, Teaching and

Learning Lifetime Achievement, Innovative Teaching, Best Feedback Provision and Contribution to Academic

Support. Any member of academic staff could be nominated and the results were left entirely to the student

vote. On Thursday 8 May the winners were presented with their awards at the ETA ceremony, hosted by David

Mendoza-Wolfson in the Cube. The award-winners and highly commended runners-up for each category are as


Outstanding Lecturer: Alistair Hudson (winner) and Sabu Padmadas (highly commended)

Teaching and Learning Lifetime Achievement: Hugh Davis (winner) and Edward Milton (highly commended)

Innovative Teaching: Mark Telford (winner) and Alessia Plutino (highly commended)

Best Feedback Provision: Betty Lanchester (winner) and Peter Langdon (highly commended)

Contribution to Academic Support: Martin Browne (winner) and Sunil Manghani (highly commended)

Words: Parul Pujara

Tags: , , ,