Winners of the ETAs and CRAs announced

In General

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Last night saw SUSU host our annual Excellence in Teaching Awards (ETAs) and the return of Course Rep Awards (CRAs)

Students were invited to submit nominations through the SUSU website for academic staff within five categories: Outstanding Lecturer, Teaching and Learning Lifetime Achievement, Innovative Teaching, Best Feedback Provision and Contribution to Academic Support.

Students were also invited to submit nominations for Course Reps within six categories including Most committed to raising the profile of Education Zone, Commitment to the Zone (x3),Best Team of Academic Representatives, Best Individual commitment to the cause (x4) and Academic Rep of the Year.

The awards come as part of a week of award ceremonies starting with the Athletic Union Awards on the 1 May, the Intramural Awards on the 6 May and completing with the Excellence in Volunteering Awards on the 8 May.

The award-winners and highly commended runners-up for each category are as follows:


Innovative Teaching

Winner – Professor George Attard

Runner up – Dr James Dyke

Best Use of Technology to Enhance Teaching

Winner – Oliver Bills

Runner up – Professor Graeme Earl

Best Feedback Provision

Winner – Dr Gareth Dyke

Runner up – Dr Bill Brocklesby

Contribution to Academic Support

Winner – Dr Alex Dickinson

Runner up – Claire Townsend

Outstanding Lecturer

Winner – Dr Nicholas Gibbins

Runner up – Professor Sabu Padmadas


Teaching and Learning Lifetime Achievement

Susan Smith


Most Committed to Raising the Profile of the Education Zone

Winner – Emily Postle

Runner up – Hattie Hall

Commitment to the Zone

Winner – Giles Howard

Winner – Louisa Healey

Winner – Frazer Delves

Best Individual Commitment to the Cause

Winner – Christian Vale

Winner – Minh Nguyen

Winner – Daniel Černin

Winner – Fiona Vincent

Best Team of Academic Representatives

Winner – Faculty of Medicine team

Runner up – Faculty of Social & Human Sciences Academic Vice Presidents team

Academic Rep of the Year

Winner – Miłosz Gaczkowski

Runner up – Rhys Thomas

Tags: , , ,