AU Awards 2018 – the winners

In News

Reading Time: 3 minutes

On Friday 04 May Team Southampton celebrated another fantastic year of sporting achievements at the AU Awards and Ball 2018, held at St Mary’s Stadium. It was a glamorous night where students enjoyed a three-course meal followed by the AU Awards ceremony and a fantastic after party, with Drop Division providing the tunes until the early hours.


It’s been another fantastic year for Team Southampton from our Varsity win against Portsmouth to the hard work and dedication shown from our athletes both on and off the pitch.

Following the Awards, our VP Sports, Steve Gore, comments: “It has been a pleasure for myself and the Athletic Union Committee to recognise the outstanding contributions our student athletes and volunteers make towards the successes of Team Southampton. Without them we wouldn’t be ranked in the top 10 for University society offerings in the country, which is testament to their dedication and commitment to providing excellent opportunities to students and enriching their time whilst they are at University. The winners and shortlisted nominees best represent the values of Team Southampton and the Union, and I am sure they will all go on to do great things after graduation.”

Congratulations to the following students who won awards:

First Year Sportsperson – Zach Tait (Ultimate Frisbee)

The Union Engagement Award – Lauren Denning (Cheerleading)

The James Atherton Sport & Wellbeing Award – Laurence Reeves (Tennis)

Sports Personality of the Year – Emily Buller (Netball)

The Mike Beresford Coach Award – David Honey (Taekwondo)

The Sports Volunteer of the Year Award – Edward Leaman (Basketball)

Most Improved Team of the Year – Women’s Rugby First Team

Sportsman of the Year – Chris Butler (Men’s Football)

Sportswoman of the Year – Kimberly Hicks (Trampolining)

Team of the Year – Ladies’ Hockey First Team

Special Recognition Awards – Declan Berry (Touch Rugby); Mariam Ogunwale (Cheerleading); Rory Weaterton (Tennis); Sam Wright (Men’s Football); Mackenzie Brown (Cheerleading); Jack Maggs (Men’s Football); Huw Jones (Swimming)

Outstanding Athlete of the Year – Aaron Veale (Quidditch)

The Athletic Union Award – Louise Speake

The full album of photos from the night can be found over on our Facebook page. Photo credit: SUPS Events

Tags: , , ,