Sasha David Gilani

Academic President and By-Elections Results

sasha and dave photoWelcome to Summer Results Night Live from Sasha and David’s desks! We’ll be your presenters through this textual tour of elections results!

A big thank you to everyone who took part in these Summer Elections! Voters and candidates.

We can reveal that we had a total of 42 candidates across 24 positions – with 7 Union Councillors being elected automatically. Others had to fight it out to win your votes, either against other students or against RON. In total there were 2785 votes cast, by 1380 unique students.

Here are all those results* with stats and figures – but you can also see the winners below:


Academic Presidents:

Archaeology – Daniel Ayre

Chemistry – Anthony Carter

Civil Engineering – Will Hooper

Education – Rebecca Broere

ECS – Milosz Gaczkowski

English – Daniel Tovey

Environmental Science – Louise Ward

Geography – James Cosgrove

History – George Colvin-Slee

Law – Alexander Lombos

Management – William Thomas

Maths – Alison Rennie

Modern Languages – Sophia D’Angelico

Music – Charles Best

Nursing – Gemma Peacock

Ocean & Earth Sciences – Otava Karhunen

Philosophy – James Parson

Physics & Astronomy – Molly Nicholls

Psychology – Gregory Simmonds

Social Sciences – Grace Cameron

Student Leaders:

Athletic Union Officer: Lucy Dowdall

Student Enterprise Officer: Jack Kanani

Well-Being Officer: Josh Cox

Winchester Officer: Amy Harwood


  •  Jade Head
  • David Heard

Union Councillors:

  • Thomas Feather
  • Benjamin Franklin
  • Alex Hovden
  • Mark Lavery
  • Joshua McDonald
  • Vlad Novikov
  • Joseph Spencer

*The results for Student Leaders and Trustees have been sent to the Returning Officer for confirmation**.

**The Returning Officer has since confirmed these results.

Thanks a lot for reading… and have a great night!

Sasha and David!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackback URL

No Comments on "Academic President and By-Elections Results"

Hi Stranger, leave a comment:


<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Subscribe to Comments